skip to Main Content

During award ceremony I on Friday at The International Liver CongressTM, EASL acknowledges the major scientific contributions of scientists in the field of liver research.

The EASL Governing Board selects nominees and recipients receive their awards in the presence of the liver community.
The first EASL Recognition Awards ceremony was held during the 41st Annual Meeting in Vienna in 2006. The two recipients perfectly illustrated the goals of the association in creating this new award: bright, active scientists who had provided major advances in science, knowledge, clinical care and teaching in their own field of expertise; recognised and admired worldwide for their accomplishments. To this day, EASL is proud to continue to honour the men and women who write the history of hepatology through presenting the EASL Recognition Awards.

View the full list of EASL recognition awardees below.

Paris – 2018

Amsterdam – 2017

Barcelona – 2016

Vienna – 2015

London – 2014

Amsterdam – 2013

Barcelona – 2012

Berlin – 2011

Vienna – 2010

Copenhagen – 2009

Milan – 2008

Barcelona – 2007

Vienna – 2006

EASL-Young-Investigators-logoThe EASL YI Award is a yearly award specifically dedicated to young fellows. Every year, the EASL Governing Board and YI Concerted Action Group select YI awardees based on their international liver research achievements to-date.

The YI 2018 Awardees will be acknowledged during the award ceremony II which will be held in Paris on Saturday 14 April.

Congratulations to Dr Jesus M. Banales and Prof. Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou for their contribution to Hepatology. In addition to their award, they will also be invited to publish a review in the Journal of Hepatology.

Young Investigator Awardees of 2018

Biodonostia Research Institute
Department of Liver Diseases
San Sebastian, Spain

Hepatology Department
Beaujon Hospital and University Paris Diderot
Paris-Clichy, France